Tom Malone Prize 2003 – 2012 & Translucence: contemporary glass

17 December 2011 – 2 April 2012

This year the Art Gallery of Western Australia celebrates 10 years of the Tom Malone Prize. The prize has strengthened the Gallery’s engagement with the contemporary Australian glass scene. An acquisitive award, it has established a truly popular and long lasting benefit for all Western Australian and Gallery visitors. This Year the Tom Malone Prize will be exhibited alongside Translucence: contemporary glass.

Kevin Gordon
Nautilis shell bowl 2008 (detail)
blown glass, inside cased colour, sand-blasted hand carved brush polish glass
12.8 x 43.6 cm (diameter)
State Art Collection, Art Gallery of Western Australia
Purchased through the Leah Jane Cohen Bequest, Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, 2008

The combined exhibitions feature work by 2012’s shortlisted makers, all past winners and a selection of glass works from the State Art Collection. Works have been selected to bring to view objects which have been recently purchased, and those works that precede and parallel the works of the Tom Malone Prize acquisitions. With a wide variety of approaches to making - from kiln-forming, to dazzling hot glass blowing, to pâte de verre to work incorporating video – the display broadens viewers' understanding about what is happening in the glass world and what is possible in the medium of glass.

The Tom Malone Prize will be showcasing 14 shortlisted finalists. This year’s shortlist comprises an incredible line-up of major established artists and newcomers, and features: Alexandra Chambers, Aseem Pereira, Ben Sewell, Brian Corr, Christine Chlowea, Gerry King, Jason Sims, Jeremy Lepisto, Jessica Loughlin, Kayo Yokoyama, Nick Mount, Tim Edwards, Tom Moore and Tom Rowney.

Translucence: contemporary glass will be exhibiting 45 works by 36 artists. Comprised of all past winners of the prize and important glass works from the State Art Collection including; Klaus Moje, Toni Warbuton, Josiah McElheny, Charles Butcher, Dale Chihuly and Kevin Gordon.

Judging of the Tom Malone Prize 2012 took place on Monday 30 January. The judges were Director of the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Stefano Carboni; Curator of Contemporary Art and Photography, Robert Cook; Governor of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, Elizabeth Malone; and Australian glass artist, Klaus Moje.

Tom Malone Prize Winner 2012

The Art Gallery of Western Australia is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2012 Tom Malone Prize for contemporary glass artists is Brian Corr for his work Ensō.

Brian Corr
Ensō 2011
waterjet cut, cold worked and constructed flat and kiln-formed glass

79.8 x 79.4 x 16.7 cm
Photograph courtesy of Rob little




Last reviewed 10 February 2012

Back to top