Tom Malone Prize 2016_installation

Tom Malone Prize

The Tom Malone Prize was established in 2003 as an annual event for Australian glass artists. An acquisitive prize, each year’s winning entry becomes a part of the State Art Collection.  

Its status as a highly respected and eagerly anticipated event for contemporary Australian glass artists is reflected in the quality of the prize winners and the competitive shortlists. Since its inception, it has facilitated the entry of significant glass works by winners Nick Mount, Jessica Loughlin, Clare Belfrage, Benjamin Sewell, Kevin Gordon, Charles Butcher, Cobi Cockburn, Deirdre Feeney, Brian Corr, Tom Moore and Mel Douglas into the State Art Collection.

In 2017, Luminous: 15 years of the Tom Malone Prize will celebrate its 15th anniversary with a large exhibition and accompanying publicatiion. On display at AGWA 11 March - 25 June 2017.

WA Indigenous Art Awards 2015 AGWA installation

Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards

The current cycle of awards has concluded and the Gallery is re-imagining the model.

Going triennial, the proposal is to build on the WAIAA’s unique and successful footprint, rebranded as a National Contemporary Indigenous Art Prize, expanding the opportunity to engage and ground it more fully within local Noongar art practice through an aligned Noongar Curatorial Traineeship program.

Launched in 2018 and presented in 2019 the triennial will following on from the major 2018 Desert River Sea Kimberley Then and Now exhibition becoming a key component of the Gallery’s Indigenous program.


These bi-annual awards (annual until 2011), and association exhibition of exceptional art, celebrate the significant and ongoing contribution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists make to Australian art, culture and society.

Founded in 2008, to showcase the breadth, diversity and excellence of art from all corners of Indigenous Australia, these national awards provide one of the richest Indigenous art prizes in the country.  Entry is open to all adult Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists currently living in Australia, working in any theme or media, including (but not restricted to) painting on bark, canvas and paper, prints, sculpture, fibre art, ceramics, glass, photography, and digital media.

The three non-acquisitive awards, totalling $65,000, are:

• Western Australian Indigenous Art Award of $50,000
• Western Australian Artist Award of $10,000
• People’s Choice Award of $5,000


Past Awards


Back to top