Tom Malone Prize

The Art Gallery of Western Australia is pleased to announce the continuation of the Tom Malone Prize for Australian glass artists.

The Tom Malone Prize was initiated in 2003 by Governor of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, Elizabeth Malone and celebrated its 15th anniversary in 2017.

The Prize continues through the support of Foundation Benefactor, Sheryl Grimwood, and has also been increased from $12,000 to $15,000. As an acquisitive prize, the winning work becomes part of the State Art Collection where it will join works by previous winners: Clare Belfrage, Gabriella Bisetto, Charles Butcher, Cobi Cockburn, Brian Corr, Mel Douglas, Deirdre Feeney, Kevin Gordon, Marc Leib, Jessica Loughlin, Tom Moore, Nick Mount and Benjamin Sewell.

The Tom Malone Prize is a highly respected national event within the Australian glass arts community and it has played an integral role in the Gallery's acquisition of works by Australia's most inspiring, innovative and accomplished artists in this medium.

Applications are now open for the 2020 Tom Malone Prize. Entries close 5pm, (AWST) 1 November 2019.

2020 Entry Form


Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards


The six awards, funded by a special grant from the State Government, ran from 2008 until 2015.


These awards, annual until 2011 and then biennial, and association exhibition of exceptional art celebrated the significant and ongoing contribution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists make to Australian art, culture, and society.

Founded in 2008, to showcase the breadth, diversity, and excellence of art from all corners of Indigenous Australia, these national awards provided one of the richest Indigenous art prizes in the country. Entry was open to all adult Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists currently living in Australia, working in any theme or media, including (but not restricted to) painting on bark, canvas and paper, prints, sculpture, fibre art, ceramics, glass, photography, and digital media.

The three non-acquisitive awards, totaling $65,000, were:

  • Western Australian Indigenous Art Award of $50,000 
  • Western Australian Artist Award of $10,000 
  • People‚Äôs Choice Award of $5,000